Bertie’s Buke

7 January, 2010

I see lots of comment in the media and the blogosphere about Bertie getting artists’ tax exemption for his autobiography (sic) – Bertie Ahern: The Autobiography.

Something else: the cover photograph on the buke. Is Bertie normally tie-less? What is this mode of (un)dress saying? I’m a cool guy who doesn’t have to wear a tie any more? I’m a regular Dub who wouldn’t wear a tie unless he had to? I’m a rich geezer now so I’ll dress as I damn well like?

Just wondering. I don’t often wear a tie myself, but Bertie looks odd in this particular photo without one.

Maybe he’s getting used to this style – they don’t allow prisoners to wear ties in jail as far as I know.

Leave a Reply

